[While performing some email housekeeping, I discovered these rough notes drafted back in Dec 2005. Have included it in the 2005 Read List].

cover

I started reading Tuesdays with Morrie on a Wednesday. Finished it within 2 hours. And I didn’t skip any pages.

Title also alludes to our marking time.
“Time” is a human invention.
Life just goes on.

The book is about a man facing death but it’s really about how he chooses to live well.

155 – on living & society

173 – make peace with idea of dying. Sometimes it’s about making peace with idea of living too

174 death ends a life, not a relationship
P1. The curriculum

177 – no formulae in a relationship

187 – morrie died on sat morning. He lives on each time we read the book

P35. “Dying is the only thing to be sad over”

37 – I tried the exhale test.

57 – only allow a little self-pity. Everything is a conscious act that can
become subconscious. Even thinking about dying

64 – on regrets

166 – I was lucky then, to have discovered a book by Gorden R. Dickson (could be his Xanth series). In his preface (it wasn’t even part of the novel) he wrote that when at long last, when we finally have to lay down and die, we should not have any regrets. Simplistic? Corny? But truth is like that isn’t it? We call it simplistic and corny perhaps bec we can’t stand the truth.

65 – we all need teachers in our lives. Mine (just one of many) is in my hand right now.

70 – let me not deceive you.

80 – intro
81/ 82 once you learn how to die, you learn how to live

[WARNING: Self-indulgent introspection: we need to do things to carry on living, bec that’s how society work. We need to do things that we don’t like to do. But that’s a means to an end. Let’s not forget that. Sometimes in the midst of working to live, we forget how to live. Of course I could be criticised for not knowing what you’re talking about; that I’m in a privileged position. My response is that we always — always — have a choice. My saving grace is that I’m not born with a silver spoon. I was not given special privileges. And if I ever were they were available to all others.]

92 on family

[Takeaway: we all need to believe in something. Religion, family, children, money, work, purpose, ourselves. Some are more worth investing our time than others.]

120 – age is not a competitive issue

127 on status
[There’s nothing in there about a salary… Well I think you need to work. But it’s for something else.]

135 – greetings from a boss.
[Takeaway: I’m guilty too, of pressuring my colleagues. Why do I pressurise the team? My boss expects it? Maybe. But it’s an excuse. Sure, we have stress but no need to be. This part is where I feel a little embarrassed writing down but heck, it’s somewhere. Some of my colleagues do read this, though I never write for them].

148 on marriage
149 – also about libraries

