cover
ISBN: 0441007465

“The sky above the port was the color of television, tuned to a dead channel.”

Classic line, from a SciFi classic.

Thoroughly enjoyable. I found myself compelled to read this. Great traveling companion during my long flight to Croatia.

I thought the ideas in Neuromancer might have caused a larger wave when it first appeared, than when I’m reading it now. The novel seems “more dated”. Maybe it’s because I’ve read Cyberpunk first (btw I thought I’d blogged about the novel here… sheesh) and have watched all three installments of the Matrix movies.

Still, this is well-conceived novel.

Asian setting (ninjas), cybernetic augmented humans. VR. Black market economy.

Molly the mercenary. Don’t mess with her or else she’d shred you with her implants.

AI who plots to be recognised as human. But who would commit murder in order to achieve its aim and has infinite patience. in a way, it’s actions are both human and inhuman.

A world where VR is reality.

At first I didn’t quite understand where the plot was heading. But slowly the layers peel away and then it’s revealed that an Artificial Intelligence was behind everything. The machine is behind the machinations; using code to fight code. Ah, it’s more complex than that and it won’t hurt you to know that.

The part most familiar to Matrix (the movie) was the Matrix-like construct in the novel. Wars are fought on both the physical and digital fronts.

Familiar theme of conflict, romance, mission, impact of ideas that makes you reel in pleasant wonder. I had to remind myself this was published in 1984.

The Afterword by Jack Womack gives a lot more insights into gibson’s ideas and themes in his book. Also explains the “cyberpunk controversy”, where the term gained its own life and following than what gibson might have envisioned. Insights into Gibson’s childhood.

“Cyberspace. A consensual hallucination experienced daily by billions of legitimate operators, in every nation.”

